Longer Dan Fogelberg http://bit.ly/Yg1FPM

A friend on Twitter suggested Dan Fogelberg as a singer-songwriter I might “cover”. So, I had a go with the song that was his biggest hit here in the UK, Longer. I just couldn’t stretch to it in the original key without straining, so I dropped it down from an G major kickoff all the way down to an A…or up and then an octave lower, depending on how you look at it.

Incidentally, while mixing my guitar and vocals, I quickly Googled Mr Fogelberg only to discover that he had sadly died of prostate cancer, aged 56 in 2007. Anyway, here’s my attempt at his lovely song, hope I don’t sound like I’m straining in this version:

In retrospect, realise that it’s pretty much the same sentiment of changing seasons as allegory for life and love as I used in my self-penned song In Season, Out of Season earlier in the year.

Leave a Reply

