Cut and Pasted – a song

Well, I’ve covered death and wars, and godlessness, loss, unrequited love, addiction, gambling, poverty, all the cheery stuff, so here’s a song about the kind of brilliant person who ends up on the street, homeless. I was picturing an old hack not keeping up with the times, hitting the bottle harder until a fast-moving industry discards him like yesterday’s news. And, yesterday’s news ends up lining his boots as he crawls into a cardboard shack in an underpass somewhere…unable to cope with the urgent call to think outside the box.

Hey! Cheer up! It’s got a good beat…

Cut & Pasted

Huddled down into this a frozen place
And bracing for the cold it’s really no disgrace
Even though they told me how to play
Never seemed to me there was another way

I’m cut and pasted
In an empty box I’m wasted
Take me back to the time I really cared

Waking up to the fact we’re not living free
Never reckoned the day I’d ever see
Souls are never saved by worn out lies
Patching up the holes is no disguise

I’m cut and pasted
In this empty space I’m wasted
Take me back to the time I really cared

Words & Music – DB
Vocal, guitars, bass and loop mixing – DB
Recorded and mixed at ScienceBASS Studios

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

via Songs, Snaps, Science http://ift.tt/1iwfNPs

Leave a Reply

